Category: Awards

ATTW Announces 2018 Graduate Research Awards

ATTW is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 ATTW Graduate Research Awards. In our commitment to advancing graduate students in the field, the award’s purpose is to support and advance the research of graduate students in the latter stages of their PhD programs.

Congratulations to the following recipients for their potential contributions to research in technical and professional communication:

Breeanne Matheson, Utah State University, “[Taking] Responsibility for the Community”: Claiming Power and Legitimacy in Technical and Professional Communication in India”

Maria Poznahovska, Carnegie Mellon University, “Negotiating Collaboration:  Preparing Students for Workplace Co-Writing Amidst Linguistic Proficiency Differences”

John T. Sherrill, Purdue University, “From Pussyhats to Gynepunk: DIY Feminism in Post-Industrial Spaces”

The Graduate Research Award recipients will present on their work at a panel at the ATTW Conference on Wednesday, March 14, 2018, Session D2, at 10:45 AM in Kansas City, KS.

The award selection committee was really impressed with the quality and potential contributions of these research projects as well as the others submitted. Award recipients will be featured and present their research in a panel at the annual ATTW conference, which will be held on March 13-14, 2018, in Kansas City, KS.

The Association of Teachers of Technical Writing (ATTW) is an active professional organization of teachers, researchers, and practitioners of technical communication. Formed in 1973 to encourage dialogue among teachers of technical communication and to develop technical communication as an academic discipline, the organization boasts an international and interdisciplinary membership. ATTW produces Technical Communication Quarterly, a leading academic journal, and it collaborates with Taylor & Francis/Routledge to publish the ATTW Book Series in Technical and Professional Communication.


ATTW 2018 Amplification Awards

On behalf of the ATTW Executive Committee, I’m excited to announce a new award that will be given for the first time at ATTW 2018 in Kansas City, Kansas. If you are graduate student or non tenure-track faculty member who has been accepted to present at ATTW 2018, please read below to see if you are eligible for this award. Applications are due by January 30, 2018.



ATTW Amplification Awards

As part of ATTW’s commitment to social justice practices and increasing organizational participation and supporting research from underrepresented scholars and teachers of technical communication, ATTW is offering three awards to recognize and amplify the important contributions of underrepresented students and/or non-tenure track faculty presenting at ATTW 2018 in Kansas City, Kansas. The award includes a conference registration waiver and financial assistance ($500) with the costs of traveling to ATTW 2018. Award recipients will be honored at the ATTW awards reception.

Eligible candidates for this award include students and non-tenure-track faculty whose race, ethnicity, disability, sexual orientation, and/or nationality are underrepresented in the field of technical communication. Applications include an extended abstract (not more than 750 words) that summarizes the applicant’s ATTW presentation and its contribution(s) to the field of technical communication. The Awards Selection Committee will prioritize abstracts that are clearly defined and offer significant pedagogical, theoretical, and/or methodological contributions to the field of technical communication.

Applications should be submitted to by 11:59 PM PST, January 30, 2018.  


Jones, Moore, Walton win 2017 Nell Ann Pickett Award

Congratulations to Natasha Jones, Kristin Moore, and Rebecca Walton, who were awarded the Nell Ann Pickett Award for their article, Disrupting the Past to Disrupt the Future: An Antenarrative of Technical Communication,” published in Volume 25.4, 2016. This award is given annually for the best article in ATTW’s journal, Technical Communication Quarterly, for the previous publication year. Judges for the award are previous award winners. It is named for a founding member of the association who initiated the award and originally funded it.

Rebecca Walton, Natasha Jones, and Kristin Moore, ATTW 2017 Awards Reception, Portland

Natasha Jones is an assistant professor at University of Central Florida. Kristin Moore is an assistant professor at Texas Tech University. Rebecca Walton is an assistant professor at Utah State University.