ATTW Announces Amplification Awards

In our commitment to social justice practices and increasing organizational participation and supporting research from underrepresented scholars and teachers of technical communication, ATTW is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 ATTW Amplification Awards.

Congratulations to the following recipients who will be presenting at the ATTW 2018 Annual Conference in Kansas City, KS as Sessions B1 and B6 on Tuesday, March 13,  2:00-3:15.

Keshab Acharya, Lecturer, University at Buffalo-SUNY, “Localization Usability for Social Justice: Exploring Usability Implementation in Global North Technology in the Context of a Global South Country”  (B6)

Constance Haywood, Teaching Instructor, East Carolina University, “Headwraps & Hoops in TPC: Decolonizing Professionalism through Dress & Work Practices” (B1)

Temptaous Mckoy, East Carolina University, “You’ve Recruited Black Graduate Students, Now What?: Eliminating Privileged Socialization Practices for Minority Students in Graduate TPC Programs” (B1)

The award selection committee was really impressed with the quality and important contributions of all of the submissions and found it difficult to narrow their choices to three. Award recipients will be recognized at the ATTW awards reception on Tuesday, March 13.

The Association of Teachers of Technical Writing (ATTW) is an active professional organization of teachers, researchers, and practitioners of technical communication. Formed in 1973 to encourage dialogue among teachers of technical communication and to develop technical communication as an academic discipline, the organization boasts an international and interdisciplinary membership. ATTW produces Technical Communication Quarterly, a leading academic journal, and it collaborates with Taylor & Francis/Routledge to publish the ATTW Book Series in Technical and Professional Communication.